Categories
Books and Writing Flash Fictions Stories

Flash Fiction Friday

Hello! It’s Friday, and here’s the flash fiction for today! Think of it as a sort of standalone sequel to last Friday’s flash fiction. Also, I’m starting to rethink calling these flash fictions because I read somewhere that flash fictions are usually around 1000 words.


“So,” I began, trying to make casual talk as me and Liam got to arranging my new room, “have you ever had a girlfriend?”

“What is that?” He didn’t look so confused, just quite blank as he fiddled with the broom. I don’t think he’s ever seen one of those before.

“It’s like, a relationship with a girl you really like.”

“Oh,” he nodded, “I’m guessing you have never been a girlfriend before.”

It took me a moment to understand what he meant. “Hey!” I hit him with the pillow in my hands, but it went through his body. I resorted to dropping it and folding my arms. “How dare you!”

“I am simply stating facts.”

“Facts that are wrong,” I retorted. “I’m likable.”

“Of course you are.”

I paused. “Was that sarcasm?”

He hesitated. “No.”

“Was that sarcasm?” Now I was confused.

His hesitation was longer this time, and I sighed, “You don’t know what sarcasm is, do you?”

“I am trying to understand.”

“Just answer the question,” I groaned.

He was silent for a moment, thinking. “Do you mean a romantic relationship?”

“Yeah.”

“Well, I liked a girl once.” He finally figured out how to use the broom, and started sweeping.

“You seem sad. What happened to her?”

“Nothing. I died.”

“Oh,” my eyes widened, and I suddenly felt like I had overstepped boundaries.

“That’s okay. I had a lot of time to get over my grief.”

I picked up the pillow I had dropped. “Did you ever like anyone else?”

“No. Most of the people who came here were either aged or simply unlikable. That, or I am incapable of liking anyone romantically ever again.”

“Aw, that’s pretty sad,” I pouted, then gasped. “No wonder you think I’m unlikable.”

“No, I was simply thinking from a normal man’s perspective. Again, that, or what I said earlier.”

“Still sad, though.”

“No, it’s good for me. I don’t think I want to end up liking you, especially since you’re here to stay.”

I let out a gasp of shock as he finishes his sweeping, then looks up at me with a smile. “All done.”




Hello! It’s Friday, and here’s the flash fiction for today! Think of it as a sort of standalone sequel to last Friday’s flash fiction. Also, I’m starting to rethink calling these flash fictions because I read somewhere that flash fictions are usually around 1000 words, and these are way shorter.

Anyways, I hope you enjoyed this: something that came off the top of my head. If you did, make sure to leave a like and a comment – that would really make my day.

Until next time, peace out!

8 replies on “Flash Fiction Friday”

THE WAY MY EYES SHOT UP WHEN HE SAID “Nothing. I died.” like THAT’S NOT WHERE I EXPECTED IT TO GO CIDNFJF

took me by surprise in the BEST way, love thiss!! ❤

Liked by 1 person

I forgot to read the part where this is a sequel to Liam’s story so- um-

dying of embarassment I completely read it as a standalone 💀💀 CIDNFI

Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment